Board of directors

Mr. Frank O'Connor ARMIT, MACS (Snr), GAICD


Frank has been a member of the Board since the inception of NSACS, and is currently the organisation’s chairman. His expertise in organisational governance sees him also hold the position of board chairman of Good Shepherd Australia New Zealand Ltd, and the Port Phillip Housing Association Ltd; board director of Bayside Medicare Local Ltd, and the Inner South Community Health Service Ltd; and a council member of Reconciliation Victoria.

His distinguished background includes serving as a Councillor and four time Mayor of the City of Port Phillip and the former City of South Melbourne. Frank’s corporate background includes extensive experience at senior executive level with responsibility for information technology, property and governance in organisations operating in financial services, insurance, aged care and retirement living sectors.

Patricia Tracey B.A.(Hons) B.Ed

Vice Chair

Tricia has been an academic at major Australian universities for many years teaching and researching in psychology and politics, specialising later in her career in the latter field. She was a member of senior committees which addressed university management, coordination and operations. She has been widely recognised for her strengths in people management, policy formulation and strategic planning.

Tricia has contributed to several other community programs and presently conducts pre marriage education with couples and language assimilation with refugees. 

Tricia has been a member of the Board since 1995 and is currently vice Chair.

Brenda Nowlan B.A., G.D.M.E., T.S.T.C.


Brenda is a secondary mathematics teacher by profession and has worked in both state and private school systems. She has had a close association with Napier Street since 1998 and from this has developed a keen interest in aged care.

She has been a member of the Board since 1999, and secretary since 2000.

Nick Capes CA (SA)., BCom (Hons)


Nick is a qualified Chartered Accountant who has recently retired from full time work. He has worked in senior financial and general management positions. His two most recent positions were as General Manager of Repco Cycle Company and finally as Chief Financial Officer of the Walt Disney Company Australia.

He has long been involved in the not for profit sector as Treasurer of the Port Melbourne Neighbourhood Centre, an organisation providing social programmes and eduction pathways for people who are disadvantaged or isolated. He is also currently Treasurer on the board of Inner South Community Service, and a Public Fund Manager for the St Kilda Eco Centre.

John Coldham B.A., LL.B.


John has been a partner at a national law firm since 1984, and is currently a member of the firm’s board of management. In addition to being a highly regarded lawyer, John has had significant organisational and financial experience, and has established and run large legal practice groups.

John has been a NSACS Board member since 2000.

Liz Copping T.I.T.C.


Liz is a qualified teacher specialising in early years childhood development, student teaching and migrant English. In a prior career spanning two decades, she worked in diverse roles within publishing with a particular focus on aviation theory, publishing aviation manuals and courses for Australia, UK and USA.

She has been a member of the Board since 2002.

Gary Hutchens B.Comm.


Gary’s corporate background is in the toy industry where he worked in a variety of roles in senior management including CEO. He is a former president of the Australian Toy Association and the International Council of Toy Industries (ICTI). He is currently a member of the boards of the ICTI Care Foundation, Gasworks Foundation Patrons Fund and the South Melbourne Community Chest.

He has lived in the area for over 40 years and has been a member of the board since 2004.

Maryanne McPhee B.App.Sc.(Speech Pathology), PG.Dip. (Pall Care)


With a Bachelor of Applied Science in Speech Pathology, and a Postgraduate Diploma in Palliative Care, Maryanne is currently working at Calvary Health Care Bethlehem as the manager of the statewide Progressive Neurological Disease Service.

Maryanne has extensive clinical experience in neuro-palliative care, working in Australia and the United Kingdom. She recently co-authored a chapter on “Interdisciplinary Management of Communication” in David Oliver’s book Palliative Care in ALS. 

Maryanne has been a board member since November 2014.

Mr Pablo Salina B.A., B.Ed.


Pablo is a qualified secondary school teacher specialising in teaching at-risk youth. He has worked in the Community School sector for 8 years and is a passionate advocate for young people.

Pablo has also worked in the juvenile justice system, specifically with incarcerated young offenders and as a youth drug and alcohol residential worker. He spent 10 years in the automotive industry in sales and management roles before moving into the community sector.

He is currently employed as an Electorate Officer for a member for Southern Metropolitan Region in the Victorian Legislative Council. Pablo has extensive experience in community engagement, education and local politics.

He has been a member of the Board of NSACS since 2013.

Dr Richard Whiting M.B.B.S., F.R.A.C.P.


Richard Whiting is a consultant physician with expertise in geriatric medicine. He has practised in metropolitan and rural settings in public and private. He has been an adviser to federal and state governments on care of older people. He has also helped develop residential aged care facilities and been on several not for profit boards operating these facilities. He is now semi-retired.


Louise Crawford


Louise Crawford is a professional actor having worked extensively in the television industry. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Acting and is also a skilled presenter and voice-over artist.
Over the previous few years. Louise has become involved in politics with a passion for climate change action, the arts and social justice issues. She was elected to the City of Port Phillip Council in 2016.
Louise has lived in the area for 13 years and has been a board member since 2016.